Fafinski Mark & Johnson · Eden Prairie
David M. Ness
Firm websiteLawyer ID in OLPR search: 0287404
Draft for human review. This entry came from AI research on the firm's site and the OLPR search. No person has reviewed it, and we have not spoken with this attorney or firm. Being listed is not a recommendation.
At a glance
What we could and couldn’t confirm
This lists what the official search showed and what we did not read. It does not score or compare lawyers. Each item is detailed, with its source and date, further down.
Read in the official OLPR search
- Authorized to practice in Minnesota: Yes. Admitted 10/30/1998.
- Public decision issued: No. That is this one search field; the official record below has the wording.
- Firm profile matches the OLPR row: strong. That counts how many details agree. It is not a finding about the lawyer.
The firm says, not checked another way
- What the firm says about the first meeting.
- What the firm says about fees.
Not confirmed
- Access and language support. We did not find it.
- The attorney registration record. The state’s search asks for a reCAPTCHA check, so we did not read it.
- Whether the firm’s statements are current, or true for your matter.
- Skill, results, responsiveness or fit. A website and a public record cannot show these.
Before you call
Questions to ask David’s office
Built from what this firm’s own pages say and what we could not find. The same list is not used for every firm.
- Your website describes the fee as: “Flat fee, no figures on the page we read.” Does that cover my situation, and what would be extra?
- Your website says: “Complimentary 30 minutes.” Is that still current, and how long is the meeting?
- Who at Fafinski Mark & Johnson will do the work, and who will I hear from?
- Will you give me the fee in writing before I decide?
- Do you offer interpreters, remote meetings or a location I can reach without stairs, if I need them?
- What have you seen in situations like mine that I should plan for?
The pages we read did not state: MSBA Certified Specialist status; ACTEC fellowship; Fee terms. Ask if these matter to you.
More in the first-meeting checklist and the fee decoder.
Official record
Official record
Registration system
Not checked. The attorney registration search asks for a reCAPTCHA check before showing results, so we did not read this record. Please look it up yourself. Lawyer ID 0287404, as shown in the OLPR search, should find this record.Authorization, as shown in the OLPR search
The OLPR lawyer search row for DAVID MICHAEL NESS (Eden Prairie) shows "Authorized to practice in MN?" as YES and a date admitted to the Minnesota bar of 10/30/1998.
Official record checkedolpr.mncourts.gov · Checked by AI research draft, human review pending
Limits: This is the OLPR search, not the registration system. Matched by name and city. Search by name or Lawyer ID to see the current row; results have no permanent link.
Does the firm profile match the OLPR row? Strong match
Lawyer ID 0287404 returns one OLPR row: NESS, DAVID MICHAEL, admitted 10/30/1998, Eden Prairie. The firm profile gives Minnesota admission in 1998, a 1998 J.D., the middle initial M, and an Eden Prairie office.
Official record checkedolpr.mncourts.gov · Checked by AI research draft, human review pending
Limits: Admission year, middle initial and city agree. The profile does not spell out the middle name. The OLPR row was read by Lawyer ID in the lawyersearch.mncourts.gov search that OLPR links to; results have no permanent link. The firm-profile details are the firm's own statements. Strong, partial and unresolved describe how many independent details agree. They are not a finding about the lawyer.
Public discipline, as shown in the OLPR search
The OLPR lawyer search row for DAVID MICHAEL NESS (Eden Prairie) shows "Public decision issued?" as NO.
Official record checkedolpr.mncourts.gov · Checked by AI research draft, human review pending
Limits: OLPR states that only public matters are available. Private discipline, dismissed complaints and pending complaints are not shown. This says nothing about skill or suitability. Matched by name and city.
The firm's words
What the firm says
First meeting
The firm advertises "complimentary 30-minute initial consultations" for its trusts and estates practice.
Published by firmfmjlaw.com · Checked by AI research draft, human review pending
Limits: This is the firm's own statement. We did not confirm it another way. Ask the firm to confirm the current terms in writing. The statement is about the practice group, not this attorney specifically.
Fees
The firm advertises "flat-fee estate planning services" and does not list figures on the page we read.
Published by firmfmjlaw.com · Checked by AI research draft, human review pending
Limits: This is the firm's own statement. We did not confirm it another way. Ask the firm to confirm the current terms in writing.
Access and language support
Not found on the pages we read. That describes our reading, not the firm. Ask the office.Other statements
His firm biography says he "practices in the areas of estate planning, probate & trust administration."
Published by firmfmjlaw.com · Checked by AI research draft, human review pending
Limits: This is the firm's own statement. We did not confirm it another way. Ask the firm to confirm the current terms in writing.
The firm names him Chair of its Trusts & Estates Practice Group.
Published by firmfmjlaw.com · Checked by AI research draft, human review pending
Limits: This is the firm's own statement. We did not confirm it another way. Ask the firm to confirm the current terms in writing.
The firm's words
Background the firm publishes
Law school and admission
The firm profile lists a J.D. from Thomas M. Cooley Law School in 1998 and Minnesota admission in 1998.
Published by firmfmjlaw.com · Checked by AI research draft, human review pending
Limits: This is the firm's own statement. We did not confirm it another way.
Bar association roles
The profile lists membership in the Minnesota State Bar Association Probate and Trust Law Section and the American Bar Association Real Property, Probate and Trust Law Section and Tax Section, and says he chairs the firm's Trusts and Estates practice group.
Published by firmfmjlaw.com · Checked by AI research draft, human review pending
Limits: This is the firm's own statement. We did not confirm it another way. Membership is not an office. The firm role is internal to the firm.
Publications
The profile lists articles on estate planning, cabin succession and probate in firm blog posts (2017 to 2018) and magazines (2012 to 2013), plus a television segment in 2013.
Published by firmfmjlaw.com · Checked by AI research draft, human review pending
Limits: This is the firm's own statement. We did not confirm it another way. We did not read the articles.
Teaching
The profile lists presentations for Minnesota CLE (July 2018) and the Minnesota State Bar Association (November 2018).
Published by firmfmjlaw.com · Checked by AI research draft, human review pending
Limits: This is the firm's own statement. We did not confirm it another way. We did not confirm these with the providers.
Practice focus
The profile lists estate planning, probate and trust administration, estate and gift tax controversy, tax-exempt organizations and corporate law.
Published by firmfmjlaw.com · Checked by AI research draft, human review pending
Limits: This is the firm's own statement. We did not confirm it another way.
Not stated on the pages we read
This describes our reading, not the attorney. Ask the office about any that matter to you.
- MSBA Certified Specialist status
- ACTEC fellowship
- Fee terms
Our view
Our assessment
No assessment published. We have not gathered enough evidence to say who this attorney may suit, and a website alone would not be enough.
Before you call
Our questions to ask before hiring and notes on preparing for a first consultation apply to any office on this list.
This site offers general information, not legal advice. Using it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Please do not send us details of your legal situation.